Cloud Storage Wars: Dropbox Strikes Back

Cloud Storage Wars: Dropbox Strikes Back

By Jeremy LaBrooy - 29 Aug 2014 | Comments (0)

In today’s cloud storage wars, most companies are defined by the amount of space their users get for the least amount of money. With new pricing and updates to its Pro offering, Dropbox is hoping to show that it can compete on price while also providing greater value to paying users through a number of new features they probably won’t find on other services.

This week, Dropbox announced a re-shuffling of its Pro plans. Now, there's just the one $9.99/mo option, which comes with 1TB of storage (up from 100GB previously). The company also announced several new security features for Pro users.

Now you can password protect shared links, so only people you want to access your data can do so. Links can also expire, and you can set shared folders to view-only. Perhaps most importantly, Dropbox has enabled remote wipe functionality. When you deauthorize a device like a laptop from your account, Dropbox can remotely delete your files the next time it sees your computer. If you're an existing pro user, the 1TB upgrade will roll out over the next couple days, so sit tight.

What is Dropbox?

Dropbox is a service that lets you bring all your photos, docs, and videos anywhere, and share them easily. Any file you save to your Dropbox will automatically save to all your computers, your phone or tablet, and the Dropbox website. Dropbox also makes it easy to share with others. And if your computer melts down, you can restore all your files from the Dropbox website with a couple clicks.

How Dropbox works

Dropbox makes all your files available to you from any computer or phone. It's as easy as adding any file to your Dropbox folder. You can start working at the office and finish from home without ever needing to think about where your files are - they are always with you.

Joining Dropbox is easy: installing the Dropbox software (for Windows, Mac or Linux) creates a special folder on your computer. Anything you add to this Dropbox folder will automatically save to all your computers and to the Dropbox website. You can also invite people to share any folder in your Dropbox. This makes Dropbox perfect for team projects or sharing with family or friends - it's as if you are saving straight to their desktop. The Dropbox mobile apps let you take your life on the road. And because Dropbox keeps a one month history of your work, you can go back in time to fix mistakes or rescue deleted files.